Run Jenni, Run











{March 5, 2013}   03.05.2013 – Small Changes

This update is a little off the beaten path.  I have done well keeping up with my fitness for the past five days.  I am eating healthier, and I’ve already gotten down to 206 (that’s four pounds!).  I am staying committed to the majority of my working out, I am terrified of looking like an idiot on the rowing machine, and I’ve added machine weight-lifting into my routine.  I’m working through muscle pain and trying to come out on the other side a healthier, more fit person.  And I feel like I can achieve that.

All in all, my life is coming together quite nicely.  I have the fitness plate worked out, I have a good relationship, and I am finally working towards a career that I can see doing for more than a year before I get bored.  But it feels like I am missing something.  I have never been an overly religious person (except for those two years I went to CRU in college), but I have always had my faith as a part of my life.  And I think that’s a part of my life that I seriously want to explore again.  I have always been told that I’m “one of the good ones”.  I’m a Christian that understands the “real world”.  I’m a little more open than some of the friends I made in college religion groups.  But ever since college, I’ve fallen away from even a basic relationship with God, and I’m not okay with that anymore.

So, I’ve added some reading for each morning and each night to give me something to start getting back on track.  I have The Utmost for His Highest in my desk at school, and I am trying to read it every morning before the rush of classes start.  It’s a lot more in-depth than most of the devotionals I have, but every now and again something will strike a nerve in me that makes life make a little more sense.  At night, I’m journaling through All I Need is Jesus and a Good Pair of Jeans.  This devotional/book is a little more light-hearted, and definitely easy to follow and relate to.  It’s really any every-girl type of devotional, that you could probably enjoy even if you weren’t of the Christian faith. 

I probably won’t update much more on this subject (only when the Spirit moves me, lol).  But I felt the need to fill you all in on this part of my life.

Later Days,

-Jenni

Leave a Reply

et cetera
