Run Jenni, Run











{February 6, 2013}   02.06.2013 – Always a Silver Lining

As promised, a quick review of Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick.  There will not be as much information as I would usually include in a book review because I was hoping to see the movie before writing the review, but such is life.

While it took me awhile to really dive into this book, that is not a problem that I blame on the author.  Because once I found the time to really sit down and enjoy the book (which mostly occurred when I hit the sauna after a hard day at the gym).  After I got into it, I was reading every chance I got.  I even took an hour at Starbucks the other night which nearly got me to the end.  I finished up after a few trips to the sauna between stationary biking on Saturday. 

The book has many twists and turns that, while some would call them predictable, kept me interested; if only to see how the main character, Pat Peoples, would react once he found out the many truths he was searching for.  While Pat does not get the happy ending that he originally planned for in his personal movie (a fact the reader knows from the beginning), he does end up coming out of the story content.  I appreciated that this book dealt with a lot of real problems in a humorous way.  Peoples is haunted by the ghost of Kenny G, which does get explained near the end of the book.  I went into reading knowing what the big twist was (thanks to my mom), and I was still surprised. 

At times, I felt the writing was a bit hard to follow, but as a story written in memoir form it fit well.  The idea is that you are reading a personal memoir of someone who recently left a mental facility.  You are following his actual thought process, and sometimes I found it hard to keep up.  However, this added to my connection to the character, a quality needed for any good novel.

I would definitely recommended this book to someone looking for an easy read (it could probably be finished in a weekend if you had enough time).  It is definitely something to check out if the field of mental health is of any interest.

 

I apologize if this review seems jumbled.  I’m on a small break between classes, but I wanted to get it posted.  I’m headed to the gym this afternoon and I am looking forward to another long day that meets a lot of goals.  No soccer this week, but we are looking forward to getting back on the field next Wednesday.

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
