Run Jenni, Run











{February 1, 2013}   02.01.2013 – Already February?

My lunch is leaving a lot to be desired (sour choice of stir-fry veggies…never getting canned again).  I also am hating the fact that on Fridays my lunch is pretty much a second breakfast.  However, the fact that I am currently allowed to wear yoga pants on Friday makes everything better.  There are certain perks to teaching a fitness class at school.  Today was our nine weeks ceremony, so I’ve had a pretty slow morning.  I just have to make it through third block and I will be on to the easy part of the day. 

I am looking forward to an intense afternoon workout at the gym after a pretty basic workout in class this afternoon.  I have to keep myself entertained until Luke gets finished at work, which means I will be in for a pretty hefty workout today, seeing as he gets off at 730.  But after busting my butt I will get to enjoy an awesome dinner (Ruby Tuesdays…sooo looking forward to their salad bar) and a late night drive-in movie.  It’s all about finding ways to reward yourself. 

My current goals for February are as follows (and I will actually update on progress in March):

1. Don’t skip any long runs on the weekends.  While the distances may change from the original plan, I still want to keep distance running in my schedule, especially since I will have to get used to doing distance more often in the coming months.

2. Move to 12.5lb. weights on all free weight exercises.  I am just now getting used to using 10lb. weights, and I think with the amount that I am using them, I will be able to move up a size by the end of this month.

3. Hold each plank variation for 45-seconds.  I’m at about 30-seconds for nearly all variations that I have in my routine. 

4. Bank 90 miles (running and biking) for the month of February.  Totally possible, even if it seems crazy.

As a bonus goal, I would love to be able to say I ran my February 5k without any walking breaks.  I know it’s possible, I just have to assert myself.  My 5k for February in Light Up the Night in Winter Haven.  It’s only $25 to register, and it is up on Active.com. 

 An update on my book reviews – I may change the book for February to something already in my collection at home.  While staring at my bookcase the other day, I realized how many books I have that I have never even opened.  And a lot of them have movies.  I might read books and compare them to the movies.  Not only will it encourage my reading, it will give me a date night with Luke (like I need an excuse for that). 

After my weekend run I am going to write a review for the Dr. Scholl’s active gel insoles I just purchased.  I am hoping they give some support while I save up money for a new pair of shoes.  I will be testing them with all of my running activities, but I won’t know just how effective they are until the track workout next Tuesday.  That is where I experience the majority of my knee pain.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
