Run Jenni, Run











{January 15, 2013}   01.15.2013 – Body Weight Fail

Going to the gym and not touching the weights is just not the same for me.  I need to touch something heavy to feel like I am making progress.  Therefore, my plan to avoid free weights at the gym yesterday did not work out as I had planned.  Instead, I ended up coming up with a plan similar to the one I had on the books, and I got a decent, yet simple workout yesterday.  Here’s the breakdown:

1. 5-mile warm-up in Cardio Cinema on the stationary bike (They were playing Green Lantern…who turns down Ryan Reynolds?)

2. Three sets of 15 Right/Left Lunges with alternating overhead holds (12.5 lbs.), 15 upward rows with kettlebell (18lbs.), 20 low squats, and a 30-second plank. 

3. Three sets of 20 chest presses with dumbbells (12.5 lbs each), 15 skull-crushers with kettlebell (18lbs.), and 20 inward turned chest presses with dumbbells (12.5 lbs. each).

Then it was a 20-minute sauna visit with some light stretching thrown in for good measure.  I have been starting to work on being able to stay in the sauna for an extended period of time.  I would like to try hot yoga sometime next month, but I do not want to go in never having been in a room that hot for longer than the 10-minute maximum that most people opt for.  The yoga session offered in Lakeland is 90 minutes, and I would like to get through it without getting sick.  I can guarantee an interesting post for that experience. 

I will be skipping my track workout this evening, and instead I will try to make it through a workout on the treadmill.  I am trying to figure out if and how I would throw intervals into the workout, but it will most likely be done while watching a movie, just to keep me interested in finishing.  Hopefully all will go well.  My schedule is just too jam-packed to make it to a scheduled meeting, but I promise I will be at hills on Thursday.  I have been looking forward to getting my cardio abilities back. 

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
