Run Jenni, Run











{January 10, 2013}   01.10.2013 – Wednesday’s Workout Summary

Yesterday turned out to be an eventful day at the gym.  I succeeded in nearly every exercise I had planned.  Here’s the set-up I followed:

1. 10 minute warm-up on elliptical, which allowed for just under a mile (I took it REALLY easy).

2. A double set that included 15 reps of box steps and 15 reps of bicep curls (15lbs.).  Repeated for three sets.

3. A double set that included 15 reps of skull-crushers and 15 chest presses with the kettlebell (26lbs.).  Repeated for three sets.

4. 20 reps of alternating lunges with a dumbbell pass under the leg, ten on each leg (10lbs.).  Repeated for three sets.

5. A double set that included 15 reps of TRX rows and 20 squats.  Repeated three times.

6. 30 reps of modified Turkish get-ups, alternating 15 on right side, 15 on left side (10lbs.).  Repeated three times.

7. A double set of front and lateral raises, five each.  Repeated three times.

8. An alternating set of regular plank holds and elbow plank holds, two times for each modification, 15 seconds each.

This workout ended with four miles on the stationary bike and a 15-minute session in the sauna.  All-in-all, I was pleased with the workout, even though the last two exercises were modified from my original plan.  At least I have something to work towards accomplishing (hopefully by the end of the month!  I am getting better at staying in the main gym area, which is another small goal I have set for myself this year.  While I find the ladies’ gym beneficial, I do not want to become reliant on it because there are several parts of the main gym that are not available in the small room that is sectioned off for those of only the female variety…Plus, the pink treadmill freaks me out.  

 Tonight is a hill run, which I will try to take easy because my knee is starting to give me trouble again.  Hopefully I can rack up three hills and call it a night.  I need some well-deserved rest to prepare me for the weekend.  I have another intense workout session at the gym on Friday and a five-mile run coming up (my longest distance in a while) on Saturday.  Getting enough sleep is going to be key in succeeding this weekend.  We shall see how it goes.

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
