Run Jenni, Run











{January 9, 2013}   01.09.2013 – Running to Poetry?

Last night ended up being lots of 400s, seven to be exact (I did run a slow 800 to warm-up, though!).  I did myself a favor and listened to my body when it told me that even an 800 was too much for me after not running track for almost six months.  It was humbling to know that I am back to where I started when I started going to track almost a year ago.  I am hoping that I get it all back a bit sooner this time around, but training for a marathon means, as always, I am focusing on distance a lot more than I am focusing on speed.  I would love to keep around an 11:00-11:30 pace during the marathon, but in the end even finishing is going to be an awesome and unheard of accomplishment. 

I have been going sans headphones for the past few weeks, and it has been interesting.  It has been interesting because most of the time I still have enough of a song in my head that I am singing to myself (mostly) while I am running.  Lately, I have been listening to a lot of poetry, my favorite being Andrea Gibson.  Last night while running track, I had one of her poems (Gospel Salt) stuck in my head, which actually motivated me more than any of the songs that I had in my head.  Which bring me to a new project/experiment I might try while running hills or my long-distance runs on Thursdays and Saturdays.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Today will be another super-fun strength training session, with a quick biking session thrown in for fun.

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
