Run Jenni, Run











{January 7, 2013}   01.07.2013 – What’s the Point of… Food Journals?

Is there really a point to writing down everything you eat?  Maybe, maybe not.  I have learned that like many other diet rules/plans/ideas, it is simply something that will either work for you or it will not work for you.

Personally, I do much better when I keep a written track of everything I eat.  It is annoying, but I am more likely to pick something healthy that I already know the nutrition facts for rather than try to find something new that marches all my criteria…and if you have ever looked for the perfect protein bar with me, you know I have a lot of criteria.  With some newly added rules this year, taken from the great Bob Harper, I have taken an interest in the food I choose to put in my body.   If sugar is one of the first five ingredients, I try to avoid it.   And by try, I mean I will look through every brand of protein bar (or whatever food I’m studying) to find something that either doesn’t contain sugar, has the least amount of sugar, and/or contains real sugar as opposed to artificial sweeteners.  I do this because, at least for me, eating something sweet in turn causes me to crave more sweets.  Eating something off the path of health causes me to want to devour my entire kitchen.

I am heading back to school tomorrow, and I am wondering just how much of my day’s meals I need to plan out.  While many people swear by meal planning in addition to keeping a food journal, I always end up craving something that is either not docked for the day, or worse, something that has no relation to any of the ingredients I have put on my list of ideas for the week.  Therefore, I let my recipes sort of free flow throughout the week.  I focus more on calories.  I focus on putting healthy things into my body no matter what I am craving.  And this works for me.  Some people need more structure, and I totally get that.  Some people need to meal plan in order to get through their weeks/months financially, another thing I completely understand.

In healthy living it is important to remember to do what works for you.  As long as you are making healthier choices, it all works out in the end.

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
