Run Jenni, Run











{November 17, 2012}   11.17.2012 – New Beginnings

Starting in December, I will enter a new chapter of my life.  I will be starting a Paraeducator position at Roosevelt Academy.  This school is an ESE-specific school for grades 6-12.  Obviously, I am really excited to get a “big girl” job, but I am also excited to get the majority of my evenings back!  I closed deli for the last night ever.  I will still be working part-time in the produce department, but super late nights are OVER!

I’m also really excited that tonight I get to try the Turkey and Cranberry sub from Publix… I will let you know how that goes.

But by obtaining my evenings, I will be able to work out in the evenings again. YAY!!  I will get to go to running club again, especially on Tuesday nights!  I get to do speed work again, lucky me.  I will also get some long runs in on the weekends.  Strength training will be done in the mornings, hopefully.  I have to get out of the house by 6:30AM during the week, so strength training would put me waking up at around 5:00AM or earlier…depending on what workout I want to do.

I’m hoping to get at least five miles in tomorrow, but I have done 7.5 in the last two days.  Five miles of hills on Friday at the lake, and 2.5 miles today on the outside trail.  Yayyy.  Hills are killer on my legs, and I am hoping to do some research and invest in some compression socks.  I’m training for a weekend of running in February, and I’m thinking compression socks might help me get through that safely and comfortably.

More about the race… I’m planning on doing the Beck Light Challenge in Tampa February 23 & 24.  This challenge includes a half marathon, a 15k, and a 5k race, all part of the Gasparilla race series.  I have run the 5k before, an I loved the race and the expo that went along with it.  It was my second official 5k, followed up by the Bolt Run, which I am hoping will still occur this year despite the current NHL Lockout.

More updates will occur as I am getting back on track.

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
