Run Jenni, Run











{July 7, 2012}   07.07.2012 – Marathon Training

I have eighteen weeks to learn how to effectively run 26.2 miles.  Done.

I am all kinds of new to this adventure, but I am definitely looking forward to it.  I could have worse goals.  Let’s get down to the details.

The marathon I am looking to run is the Richmond Marathon on November 10th, 2012, in Richmond, Virginia.  I have always wanted to travel for a race, so what better than my first marathon?  I have an Aunt who lives about 2 hours outside of Richmond, so I am treating it like a vacation.  Only crazy people treat running over 26 miles as a vacation.  Hello, I am a crazy person.

I have mini goals to work up to the full distance, which increase in 5 mile increments.

08.11.2012 – Run 10 miles comfortably

09.15.2012 – Run 15 miles comfortably

10.20.2012 – Run 20 miles comfortably

Comfortably might not be the right choice of words, but I would rather not feel like death once I’m done running.  While I have all the dates set on Saturdays, I will generally be doing my long runs on Sunday mornings.  I need a reason to wake up early, and running a ridiculous distance seems as good excuse as any these days.

I will be running Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays, as long as my work schedule complies.  I am going to start asking for Sundays off (at least the morning) because I will simultaneously be searching for a new church to attend, but that is for a different blog.  When I am not able to attend running club, I will find time to run on my own.  Monday, Wednesdays, and Fridays I will be doing some type of yoga or Pilates, as well as a small strength workout.  I plan to switch things up on Saturdays and either have a full rest day or do whatever I may be in the mood for on that particular day.  I have an unholy amount of workout DVDs that need to be used, so I will never have an excuse to get bored.

I am excited for this adventure, and I plan to stay committed to it.  I started this morning with a yoga workout to get me stretched out and ready for my first long run tomorrow morning (7.5 – 8 miles!).  Let the fun begin!

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
