Run Jenni, Run











{March 9, 2012}   03.09.2012 – You Can’t Have It All

Seriously.  When you go out to eat…you can’t have it all.

But often times even I forget that when I am placed in front of some of the worst food I could choose to put in my body.  So, how does one eat out and remain healthy?  It is possible.  Many restaurants have healthy choices on their menu that taste pretty awesome.  I recently had the Dijon Chicken with Portobello Mushrooms at Applebees.  Once you get over the fact that you are receiving a correctly portioned meal at a restaurant, it it pretty tasty.

This healthy dining out choice, however, is combated and taken over by the fact that later that evening I ended up at Taco Bell and Checkers…yes, both.  I had a splurge to end all splurges, which set me almost 800 calories over my normal daily intake (2477 compared to a normal 1700).  In addition, I had not done much to burn off the calories that day aside from a two mile run and some canoeing, which is equal to the type of exercising I would do on average.

So, when this happens, what do you do?  For me, I took the next day very seriously.  I cut my caloric intake to 1600 (not much, but effectively making me more cautious of what I ate for the day) and I threw an eight mile run into the exercise plan for the day.  With the estimated 100 calories burned per mile, I would burn enough calories to defeat the major splurge experienced the day before.

This is not an action I would suggest doing every day, especially if you are a beginner.  Eight miles, especially at this point, kills my legs.  As soon as I got home, I jumped in a cold bath and soaked for a good twenty minutes.  Even after that, my legs still want to produce a mutiny against me this morning.  I changed today to a yoga day to give them a day of low-impact movements.  Tomorrow I am hoping to go to the beach, so maybe I can throw a run in there, if that is where I end up.

The smartest thing to do when eating out is to stick to one restaurant instead of going to every restaurant you pass on your side of the road.  When your one restaurant is chosen, stick to the healthy options offered by the restaurant.  On a side note, do not be fooled by salads.  Often times, their dressings are more harmful than the bacon cheeseburger you have been craving.  If you are a planner, check nutrition facts online and have a meal chosen before you even go to the restaurant.

If you do splurge more than you planned, you have two options.  You can work extra to burn off those extra calories, or you can go back to healthy eating and pretend the day did not happen.  As long as you stick to a healthy way of living and eating for the majority of the time, one double bacon cheeseburger with a large chocolate shake is not going to kill you unless you’re allergic to bacon.  Remember to love your body, it’s the only one you get.

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
