Run Jenni, Run











{February 6, 2012}   02.06.2012 – From The Beginning

I was looking back at old blog entries, and I realized something.  I have never posted on what I used to be like.  Of the hundreds ten people who read my blog, only one or two know what I was like in high school.  Very few of you know the lazy, unhealthy person that I used to be.  So…from the beginning…

When I was in high school there were two very embarrassing things you need to know:

1. I was a little emo kid.

2. I was actually a pretty big emo kid.

I have since burned all the photos that look like I’m the lead singer of a death metal band, but I do have an old prom picture.  This was Senior year, so I was venturing away from the darkness, but I hadn’t ventured away from being unhealthy.

Even when I was technically unhealthy, I still felt pretty most days.  I just eventually got to a point in my life where I wanted to change.  I honestly don’t have a lot of photos from high school because I have changed so much since then.  When the above photo was taken, I probably weighed about 285.

The first question I always get when it comes to weight loss is what my motivation was throughout the process.  There really is never an easy answer for that question because the motivation is going to be different for each person.  For me, I just wanted to change.  I wanted to be healthy.  I wanted to look in the mirror and feel proud.  I wanted to look good naked.  I will be the first to admit that my weight loss was partially motivated by my desire to be desired by others.  However, the main turning point was when my doctor told me I needed to lose weight or I was heading down the dark path of health problems that everyone in my family was already experiencing.  He basically told me that if I did not fix myself now, my body would be worthless by the time I was forty.  Talk about a harsh reality.  So, he wrote out a diet plan for me.

I am not one for spending large amounts of money for something like a nutrition plan, but some people may need something like that.  Personally, I was able to expand on the small guidelines that my doctor gave me to make a diet plan that worked for me.  Early on, however, I discovered that it is never a diet that changes your life.  In order to change your life, you need to make permanent lifestyle changes.  This is probably the hardest part of the journey.

For the first month, I focused more on changing the way I ate.  I knew that I would eventually have to add in exercise, but I needed to nourish my body and obtain the energy to do so for at least the first couple of weeks.  the more I added healthy options in my eating habits, the more energy I had.  Because of this, adding in exercise was not difficult at all.  I started with simply walking a couple of miles each night.  then, I added a massive amount of cardio videos that I would record each morning.  I miss FitTv… I DVRed the shht out of All-Star Workouts.  I was a huge fan of Pilates and yoga, but also could rock out some cardio boot camp on days when I was feeling particularly bad-ass.

I started this journey in March 2009, and I have not really looked back since that time.  I don’t even talk about my past that much because I am a firm believer of not focusing on the negative parts of my life, but rather the positive that came out of those moments.  Since 2009, I have lost around 100 pounds.  During college I tended to fluctuate with my weight a few times because of some partying.  I learned that the quickest way to lose weight for me was to cut back on drinking, so that is something that I have been focusing on lately, living at home makes that pretty easy.  I have found that I enjoy being healthy.  I like making choices that make my body feel better, more productive.

I am happy at my current size.  I feel healthy, and I stick to a decent lifestyle most days.  My focus right now is still on weight loss, but my main goal is to find a strong and healthy end result.  I have been adding more strength training in my workouts.  I like the fact that I’m finally focusing on toning up the body that I have been working at for over two years.

This post is insanely long.  I’ll post more about my more recent goals in another post.

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
