Run Jenni, Run











{January 31, 2012}   01.31.2012 – Garden Fresh Stir-Fry

My dad has a garden.  Tomorrow I shall give you a tour of it.  Today I shall give you a taste of it.  I’m doing that kind of backward, aren’t I?  Oh well, it’s my blog.  I do what I want.  And I want to tell you about a fabulous vegetarian stir-fry that I made this evening.  Mexican for lunch and Asian for dinner, I’m doing pretty darn well with my ethnic cuisines, if I do say so myself.

Okay, first off: the fresh ingredients.

In the stir-fry we have broccoli, carrots, and peas…all fresh all the time.  Fresh broccoli is a gift from the Gods.  It is unmatched in awesomeness.  Recognize.

I chopped the veggies up finely and boiled them in with 1/3 cup of rice with a small amount of low sodium soy sauce added to the water.  It really doesn’t need that much seasoning, but I added a few shakes of powdered ginger just for some extra “umph”.

In a separate skillet, I heated up a little of these fancy babies:

I told you I loved Gardein products.  This is one of my all-time favorites.  I fried a couple of these up and added an egg white just because I felt like it.  Season with a little pepper and a bit if the orange sauce, and it is fantastic.

Once both parts of this recipe are complete, just throw them together in the skillet and mix it up with the burner turned up to high.  This is what happens:

I need to make my food photography look more appetizing.  I’ll put that on my list of things to do this weekend.

I am falling in love with smoothies again, so you can look forward to many updates about “wins” and “fails” when it comes to combining flavors.  Get excited.

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
