Run Jenni, Run











{February 20, 2011}   February 20, 2011

So, I survived my first 5k.  Not only did I survive, I reached my goal.  I wanted to run it in under 40 minutes.  My official time: 38:29, get excited.  I know, I know…the fast person finished it in under 20 minutes, but that’s just over-achieving.  But, I absolutely loved everything about yesterday morning.

I woke up at around 5:10, because we had to be signed-in and have all of our stuff before the race started at 7:00. AM.  In the future, I’m not sure how many early morning races I’ll go for, unless I know I can get an acceptable night of sleep the night before (I got about five hours, which isn’t bad, but I  could have gone for more.  I know people who had less).

For my next 5k (this weekend), I would love to aim for a faster time, but again, I’m more focused on finishing.  It’s hard to remember sometimes, that I need to be focused on the ability to finish more than speed, especially with my final goal.  Running 13 miles is a lot, so I need to work on my endurance, rather than my speed.  But, these are all things  you probably already know.

I’ve started my food diary for this week, Sunday first.  I’ll try to post them all within a day of doing them, but I can’t promise anything.  I also can’t promise that the photos will be gorgeous.  I am still learning how to make things look pretty on this blog.  But, let’s try for some photos right now!  I went to http://www.photovisi.com to make a collage of some of the awesome photos, my friend, Angela, took during the Bolt Run.  🙂

 

I”ll get better with photos eventually…promise.

 

Later Days,

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
