Run Jenni, Run











{January 31, 2011}   January 31, 2011

Let’s recap this month.  Mostly because I’m avoiding homework, and I want to brag about how awesome this month has been.

For the month of January, I lost 20 pounds.  Yes, you heard right.  I lost 20 pounds.  I feel amazing.  Granted, I don’t have many pants that fit well anymore; but, I think I can live with that.  I cannot wait to see what the upcoming months will produced.  I’m not expecting anything as extravagant as this month, because I am aware that the beginning weight loss is always the fastest.  But, as I get closer and closer to my goal weight, I can’t help but get over excited.

Also, this month I started going to the gym in the early morning, rather than the late afternoon.  This has been one of the best decisions of my life.  Really, it is a great way to start my day off right.  I actually look forward to it.  And it makes me make better decisions during the day.  I don’t want to go out and drink (or stay in and drink, for that matter) because I know that I want to be in that gym and on a treadmill by 6:30 every morning.  I’ve also started using weights in the morning.  I’ve started out slow (especially on the arms).  I think I’m working with about 20-25 pounds for every machine that works the arms.  When it comes to my legs I can range from 30-40 pounds depending on what specific muscles I’m working out.  Then on the abdominal machines, I’m working with about 50 pounds.

My neck doesn’t hurt as much as it did a week ago.  I didn’t so much take it slower, I just took a lot of ibuprofen and got some awesome neck massages.  I think it should be a rule that everyone find a friend that is amazing at massages.  They really do help.

I’m looking forward to February.  I have my first race at the end of the month.  I’m doing a 5k with my friend.  I’m really excited to just be in a race and finish it; but, I am hoping that I can get a time under 40 minutes.  It’s not a crazy, off-the-charts goals, it’s just something to work towards.  I also get to officially register for my half-marathon on Valentine’s Day.  I don’t think people understand how excited I am about this.  Really, I’m excited.

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
