Run Jenni, Run











{January 26, 2011}   January 26, 2011

When I want to avoid homework, I blog.  I want to avoid homework, so here I am.

I started morning workouts this week, and they honestly haven’t been as bad as I thought they would be.  Sure, i get tired a lot earlier…but the plus is I’m actually sleeping at night.  I may be a bore to all my other friends in college, but I’m doing something for me.  I have a goal that I am dying to reach, and I’ll do anything to get there.  Exercising takes my mind off of the rest of the problems that I have going on right now.  There’s a lot of stuff that I am not ready to face.  I want to focus on something that I can control, and that’s how much I can run.  When I make plans, I can control when I run.  I control where I run.  I am pretty much completely in control of my running schedule.

One of the hardest things for me to do while on this new schedule is listen to my body, but I’m getting better at it.  Today, for example, my legs are killing me, and my shoulders ache.  I still have neck pain, but a strong dose of Advil is making me forget about that.  I still went to the gym this morning, but I took it easy on myself.  I walked, rather than run, and I focused a lot more on building my strength than what was on the schedule for today.  I’m hoping that this pain will go away soon.  I am trying to find a healthy balance between fighting through it and giving my body time to rest.  I have my first 5k in exactly a month.  I’m super excited.  I actually want a decent time for this race, even if it is my first.  It isn’t like the half-marathon, where I will be content with at least finishing.  I don’t want to be the last person to cross the finish line.

In terms of eating healthy, I am keeping my caloric intake to around 1700 a day.  I feel pretty content with that, and I am trying to keep in mind that muscles weighs more than fat and that this is a process.  I’m trying to focus on feeling good about myself, but I can’t help but let my goal weight linger in the background.  When I put my mind to something, I do it.  I may not like it, but I try to keep the end result in mind.  I’m not going to get to that end result by giving up halfway through.  It’s going to take hard work.  I have to be determined.  It’s going to be a challenge.  But I live for the challenge.  I want to do better.  I want to be a better person.  I don’t want to have my family’s health history looming in the back of my mind waiting to screw up my life.  I want to stop it before it starts.

More later, I’m sure I’ll want to avoid homework again soon.

-Jenni.

Leave a Reply

et cetera
